Kentucky Derby Party

On Saturday I helped host a Kentucky Derby viewing party for work. I’ve wanted to go to the Derby for years but was never quite able to make it work. Bucket list for sure, but the viewing party was a blast!

IMG_7300.JPG

I love dressing up for any occasion, so you can imagine my excitement in getting ready for the party. I found some awesome supplies at the dollar store and got crafty with my outfit. What’s a Derby party without a good hat?

IMG_7280.JPG

We got there early to set up and check out the launch of the new brunch menu.

DSC_0685

DSC_0688

We ordered the Market Vegetable Omelet – haricots verts, peas, shallots, tomato, asparagus, cauliflower, breakfast potatoes, and the Fluffernutter Stuffed French Toast, made with frosted flake crusted challah bread.

Both were incredible, and neither of us were able to finish our dishes because they were so filling.

After brunch and a little bit of set up, we headed to the bar to try the featured drinks of the day – mint juleps and Kentucky mules.

DSC_0693DSC_0695.JPG

I’m not a big bourbon fan, but the mint in the drink was really refreshing and I enjoyed bourbon in a way I haven’t before.

Unfortunately, neither of the horses we picked won. (I guess Nyquist was the favorite for a reason.) It was still exciting to watch the race and to feel the anticipation in the crowd.

IMG_7297-1.JPG

Later on, we got an order of one of the Derby specials – Smithfield Ham Sliders. They were cute little biscuit sandwiches with ham, cheese, and pickles. The dish came with fries and easily could have been an entree.

DSC_0702.JPG

I ended the evening with a Kentucky Mule and admired the lights at the restaurant before heading home. My first Kentucky Derby party was a success!

IMG_7303.JPG

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

