April Birchbox Review

So I realize this is a bit late, but it seemed beneficial to actually use the products in this month’s Birchbox for a bit and then write my thoughts on them.

April’s box was a fun one. I swear, it’s like sometimes they read my mind. Need a new hair product? Here you go. Want to try a different lip color? We got you.

DSC_0003.JPG

Also, I was psyched on the box design this month. It’s so pretty I brought it to work to organize some of my office supplies. I love when they team up with Rifle Paper Co.:)

DSC_0011.JPG

The products in April’s box were:

POREfessional Primer by Benefit Cosmetics
Perfect hair Day (PhD) Dry Shampoo by Living Proof
Volumizing Lifting Spray by PARLOR
Matte Velvet Lipstix in Ravishing Ruby by POP Beauty
The Ultimate Makeup Remover Wipes by RMS Beauty

DSC_0022.JPG

My favorite product in the box was the Perfect Hair Day dry shampoo. Partly because I use it the most frequently, but also because I’m picky about my dry shampoo. This one blends in super easily and smells pretty good too. I’m definitely a fan.

DSC_0013.JPG

Although I was excited to try the POP lipstick–Nothing beats a good red lip–I was disappointed a bit by this product.

The color was nice but it was so dry putting it on that I felt like I needed to use chapstick as a first layer. It also dried out my lips, which is problematic for me because I’m always fighting chapped lips. On the other hand, it does stay on all day, even through a number of meals and beverages.

Overall- not awful, but I wouldn’t purchase it myself.

DSC_0015.JPG

I don’t have much to say about the primer and the volumizing hair spray. I love Benefit cosmetics and PARLOR products. I used the primer recently in conjunction with a new concealer and really enjoyed the outcome,though I can’t say it had much of a different effect from my usual NYX primer.

The hair spray smells amazing, as all PARLOR products do. My hair is finally long enough to wear up so recently I’ve been doing that more often but come Summer when I want to play up the beachy look, I know it will come in handy.

DSC_0016.JPG

I found the wipes humorous, because they’re basically what I use for to remove my makeup every day – coconut oil and a tissue. Economically speaking, you’d be better off buying a jar of coconut oil and using that instead of buying these packaged wipes.

However, if you swear by make up wipes, these do work well. The packing boasts minimal/natural ingredients and they don’t sting my sensitive eyes the way other scented wipes sometimes do. I suggest wetting them a bit for best results, but other than that, I have to agree with the name – they are the ultimate make up remover wipes. Plus, they’re great for travel or when you’re too tired to get out of bed and wash your face.

I think a pack of 20 wipes goes for $20. If a jar of coconut oil isn’t your thing, these aren’t a bad choice.

DSC_0019.JPG

I got the email today that May’s box just shipped! I can’t wait to see what’s in store for this month.

chelsea

 

 

2 thoughts on “April Birchbox Review

Leave a Reply

