BAA 5K

On the 16th I ran the BAA 5k, which is the kick off race for the BAA distance medley, as well as the Boston Marathon weekend.

To be totally honest, I was nervous. I was training for the race and doing my best to run more regularly but since dropping out of the marathon last summer, I intentionally hadn’t done much running so that I could give my knee a rest.

I woke up early and had a cup of coffee and a few clementines for breakfast. I can’t usually eat when I first wake up but

I wanted to get some fuel in me so I kept it light. I hopped on the T and headed down to the Boston Common, where the race was held.

IMG_7120.JPG

It was a little chilly and there was a bite in the early morning air but the atmosphere was electric. If you’ve never been to Boston around the Boston Marathon, it really is an amazing time to be in the city. It’s hard to explain, but there’s an excitement that pulses through the air.

IMG_7124.JPG

All together, just under 9,000 runners who showed up for the race. I’m a total sap, but I always feel so inspired/emotional at races. I don’t know if it’s the communal sense of hard work and perseverance that gets me or the nerves/awe/excitement of running around the time of the Boston Marathon but I was feeling really proud of everyone around me.

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

I wasn’t sure how my performance would be but my goal before the race was to take it at my pace, without pain, to the finish line. I had no other objective. But to my surprise, when I started running I felt really good. I was passing people around me and my legs felt great. I felt challenged but not in a way that was painful or draining. I haven’t run like that in a long time. And the best part? I set a new PR!

IMG_7123.JPG
Won’t be the last time I cross that finish line!

The post-race set up was easy to navigate and I didn’t have to wait long to retrieve my checked bag, shirt, or medal. I grabbed my swag bag and headed to meet Chris for breakfast at Trident Cafe on Newbury Street.

PTOP06292_1460813187169.jpg
New Balance takes over the Lenox Hotel for the marathon and they had this cool photo booth in the lobby. I look like the little boy from Up but I like this picture.

Even if it was only a 5K, it gave me a lot of hope for the future of my knees/time running. I’ve been putting in a lot of work to strengthen my legs and it was so satisfying to see an improvement. Maybe I’m not doomed after all.

Leave a Reply

