Citrus Wheatberry Salad

Sometime a few weeks ago I stumbled across this recipe and thought “that looks doable.” It’s easy, interesting, healthy, and something I would be willing and able to whip up after a long day.

Of course, I didn’t quite remember all the ingredients for the original recipe at the grocery store but I think my version came out just fine.

grapefruit-4

I figured that it would be a good lunch side but I’ve found myself having it for breakfast on a number of occasions. I’m not usually a fan of pasta salad and its variations, but I love the chewiness of the wheat berries and the fruit keeps it from being too heavy.

grapefruit-clementine

I used feta in this, but if keeping away from dairy, I think it would still be delicious without the cheese. I think a scoop mixed in to a bed of arugula and red onion would be excellent.

grapefruit-clementine-3

Ingredients:

1 cup wheat berries uncooked
1 grapefruit
2 clementines – (orange and the like is interchangeable here I think.)
A handful (ish) crumbled feta
Parsley, salt, pepper.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Cook the wheat berries per instruction.

Meanwhile, peel fruit, cut grapefruit into bite size pieces and place in the oven for 30~ minutes, or until you see some blistering. I broiled mine at the end for about 10 minutes to add a little char.

In a bowl, mix wheat berries, feta, fruit, and a pinch of salt, pepper, and parsley. I created a dressing out of red wine, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and sugar, but I think with the fruit juices it could be fine with out dressing or just a splash of apple cider vinegar and oil. I hope you like it!

wheatberry-citrus-feta-salad-3wheatberry-citrus-feta-salad-7chelsea

2 thoughts on “Citrus Wheatberry Salad

Leave a Reply

