Running & Not Running

Running is hard. Returning to running is really hard. That’s why I’m not doing it.

Not yet at least.

running-gear.JPG

I’ve trained for three different marathons in the past two years or so and injury has kept me from the finish line each time. I know what you’re thinking–I need to give up running. Every time the subject comes up, Chris tells me to get competitive with cycling or swimming or to try a triathalon. Finishing a marathon really isn’t worth running my legs into permanent knee damage, he says.

And he’s not wrong. But I don’t love anything like I love running. So here I am,taking a break from running with the hopes that someday I’ll be able finally finish that race.

nike-run-watch.JPG

In the past I never really dedicated my time and energy to specifically strengthening my legs for running. I’d spend a few sessions doing leg lifts and ball squats and impatiently wait until my IT band stopped aching enough for me to bang out a few miles. Not a great  plan, I know.

However, lately I’ve been trying out the Bikini Body Guide by Kayla Itsines to push me out of my comfort zone and hopefully get my body to a place where it’s strong enough to run.

At first glance, I honestly thought it was going to be a piece of cake but let me tell you, I have never been more sore after a work out than after these. In fact, there’s not a time when I’ve done one of these work outs and I wasn’t sore afterwards. Despite this, I can definitely notice an improvement. I feel stronger. And it feels good.

birchbox-stickers-motivation.JPG
I love these stickers that came in my January Birchbox.

In the past working out was always about losing weight for me but I’m finally in a place where I’m happy with how I look. Now, I want to challenge myself to be stronger and healthier – and do so in a way that’s sustainable. It’s exciting and honestly a little nerve wracking to change focus but I’ve got some serious goals for this year. I can’t wait to see where this takes me.

chelsea

 

2 thoughts on “Running & Not Running

Leave a Reply

