Peanut Curry Chickpea Stew

peanut-curry-chick-pea-stew-2.JPG

It has now been a full work week without spending time on social media. If that sounds pathetic to you, that makes two of us. Still, I think it’s important for me. If detoxing from social media and forcing myself to spend less time obsessing over peoples’ “perfect lives” on the internet is what I need to feel good and discover what matters in my life, then so be it. God, I feel so millennial.

tumblr_o1vuyiCNlW1rfaliro1_500
One of the delightful things I’ve experienced in this is how much time I’ve freed up. I knew before that I had an ugly habit of looking at my phone whenever I wasn’t distracted with something else (yikes) but I guess I never realized how much time that accounted for. As it turns out, a lot.

I got home from work multiple days this week and had time to work out, shower, cook a whole meal, and get to bed on time. By the end of each night I crawled into bed tired and grateful and happy. Happy. I’m not saying logging out of your Twitter account is the answer to end all suffering but it has at the least made my life marginally more enjoyable and lessened that undeniable empty feeling.

Anyhow, with all of this shiny new free time floating around I got to cooking a few things that came out surprisingly well. One of these things was a peanut curry chickpea stew. It started out as my aunt’s interpretation of mulligatawny soup, which I took and tweaked into something else.

I don’t know how else to explain its goodness except that I didn’t bring it to the office and then buy something else for lunch, which has happened more times than I’m willing to admit. I brought it to the office for lunch and was genuinely satisfied with it. That’s important to me. If I’m going to eat, I’m going to enjoy it goddamnit.

I see people struggle through salads for lunch and wonder- what’s the point of eating if you don’t like it? Not that every meal should be cheese fries and cupcakes—that will leave you unsatisfied in a different way—but I stand firmly by the belief that food can be healthy AND taste good. It’s possible. You heard it here first, folks.

So, here is my healthy and totally satisfying and moderately un-difficult and ~vegan~ stew:

Ingredients:
– 1/2 lg yellow onion
– 5 celery stalks, chopped
– 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
– 1 can chickpeas, rinsed
– 2 tbs better than bouillon
– 4 cups water
– 1 cup coconut milk
– 1 whopping tbs peanut butter
– 1 tbs olive oil
– 1.5 tbs curry powder
– A dash of turmeric
– Salt and pepper to taste
– 1/2 cup uncooked wild rice (honestly you can use any rice, you don’t need fancy fair trade organic shit grown in a remote part of the world to eat well. I bought this stuff at a discount store and it’s delicious so that’s why I have it.)

In a big soup pot, sauté the onion, carrot, celery, olive oil, chickpeas, bouillon, and curry powder on medium heat until the onions start to turn translucent.

Add the peanut butter and mix it into the veggies. Let it integrate a little before adding the water and coconut milk, then the rice. I almost didn’t use the peanut butter but it added a creamy richness that really rounded out the dish.

Cover and cook with a small simmer until the rice and veggies are soft. Add salt and pepper as you see fit. My coconut milk and peanut butter was sweetened so I opted for a little more salt.

As with most soups, be aware that the soup will thicken overnight. This is what turned mine into more of a stew, which personally, I think made it better. Enjoy!

peanut-curry-chick-pea-stew

peanut-curry-chick-pea-stew-1

chelsea

Leave a Reply

