Glowing Cranberry Smoothie

DSC_0323

Ever get that feeling when you keep eating very calorie rich, heavy food but you’re never quite satisfied? I found myself feeling that way a few days after Christmas, when I had been living off holiday leftovers.

To keep myself from eating everything in sight, I like to fill up on fruits and veggies. Usually, if it isn’t thirst, when I feel endlessly hungry its because my body is craving nutrients that it isn’t getting. Filling up on fruits and vegetables is beneficial because it a) fills you up, possibly keeping you from bingeing on unhealthy foods and b) makes sure you’re getting all the important stuff, like vitamins, minerals, and fiber.This way, if you’re still craving food afterwards it’s more likely to be just that— a craving.

One of the easiest ways to get all your fruits and veggies in is a smoothie. You’re not missing out on any of the fiber and you get a wide variety of ingredients in one gulp.

I whipped up this smoothie when I was visiting my family. It’s a variation of the “Glowing Green Smoothie” found in The Beauty Detox Solution (really worth a read if you’re interested in the benefits of plant based eating.) It’s a bit more sour than the original but that can be remedied by an extra apple or banana.

DSC_0324

– 1 Romaine Heart
– 3 Apples, cored
– 3 Bananas – the spottier, the sweeter
– Juice of 1 lemon
– 1 Cup Fresh Cranberries (frozen would work too)
– 2ish~ cups water

Blend romaine heart and water
Add apples, bananas, cranberries, blend.
Add lemon juice, blend.
Tip: Squeeze the lemon juice into a cup or bowl before adding to the smoothie so you can scoop out the seeds.

I put it in the refrigerator to cool for a bit but adding ice to recipe would do the trick too. Enjoy!

Don’t forget to follow me on instagram!

Leave a Reply

