Vegan Pizza and Simple Salad

I’ve got an update on the foot: The doctor thinks its tendonitis with maybe some plantar fasciitis in the mix as well. The good news is that as of today I can try to start walking around without it. Then ease into running on a treadmill. Baby steps… literally.

It seems to be getting better so my hopes are still high. And being in the boot hasn’t been too bad– if you’re in the Massachusetts area, you know how cold the weather was last week. It made staying inside all the easier.

All this time at home did, however, give me some inspiration to cook; –itchin’ for the kitchen, if you will, so I got in there to whip something together. The outcome: vegan pizza and a super simple summer salad. (Or, “ssss” if you’re really short on time.)

I still had some veggies left over from the post on kitchen sink pasta and I thought it would be cool to provide some other ideas on what you can make with the same ingredients. Let me know what you guys think!

DSC_0500

DSC_0505

One of the difficulties of cooking in my apartment is that I have such limited space to do anything. Although I love having a studio in Boston, my kitchen is more like a glorified pantry.

DSC_0508

Because of this, when I’m thinking about recipes and trying to come up with “easy” dishes to cook, I don’t just consider how simple it is to understand the instructions or how long is takes to make. I’m always thinking about the number of ingredients and how many pots/pans/bowls etc. it requires as well.

DSC_0509

This also helps me eat healthier because God knows when I come home from work starving the last thing I want to do dive in to an elaborate recipe.

DSC_0518

DSC_0524

I admit, I’m pretty bad when it comes to going out to eat. I do it a lot, and I waste a ton of money in the process. If there’s anything I really want to crack down on, it’s that.

DSC_0526

DSC_0527

DSC_0529

Pizza:

(The dough needs work and I’m not going to share the recipe here. Baking experts: advice on why it tasted like a pretzel?) If you’re not a baker, my suggestion is to buy a pre-made dough/crust or find a really easy recipe online.  I added nutritional yeast, basil, salt, chopped garlic, and ground flax to mine for flavor/extra boost of healthy stuff. Somewhere along the way something didn’t work, so like I said I’m not going to mislead you all.

The pizza was completely vegan. I sauteed some of the zucchini and summer squash left over with basil, oregano, thyme and a pinch of salt and pepper. While they were simmering I chopped up the half of a white onion, a few varied baby peppers and cherry tomatoes.

I used some of Chris’s homemade sauce (benefits of dating an Italian,) but I think any pizza/pasta sauce would do the job. I’m not a sauce snob in this case. I won’t hold it against you if you are.

I used extra sauce to make up for the lack of cheese and loaded on the cooked and raw vegetables. Then I threw it in the oven at a 450 for 15 minutes.

While the pizza was in the oven I used the time to clean up a little bit and make the salad:

Sliced baby cucmbers
Halved cherry tomatoesSplash of Italian dressing

It may sound basic but it’s a great summer side dish that’s both healthy and refreshing. If you’re like me and enjoy some sort of chips or crackers with your sandwich, the cucumber provides a crunchy alternative to that. Plus, I had leftovers in the fridge for 3 days and it didn’t get soggy at all. I’m always hesitant to add dressing to salads because I cringe at sad, soggy lettuce but I didn’t have to worry about it with this.

Anyhow, I hope you enjoy. I’d love to know what you guys make when you’re short on time or energy!

3 thoughts on “Vegan Pizza and Simple Salad

  1. Could you share the crust recipe so we can see what you did exactly? In a pinch we will use trader joes pizza dough but usually make our own and freeze it. It’s super easy and actually tastes better after it’s been frozen!

    I love nutritional yeast on pizza!

    1. I believe it was:
      2.5 cups flour
      2.75 tsp baking soda (I didn’t have yeast)
      1tbsp Olive Oil
      1 cup water

      and then the spices/garlic I mentioned in the original post. I’m wondering if it was the alternative to yeast or the extra dry ingredients that created an imbalance.

Leave a Reply

