Back to Basics

Okay, maybe I’m crazy here, and Chris does tell me I’m an old person on the inside, but I am so relieved to have graduation weekend over. As much as I loved seeing my family and going to dinners and celebrating, at the end of the day, it was totally exhausting/overwhelming. I kept finding myself just wanting to go to the gym and get some grocery shopping done. … See? I’m an elderly woman.

Had dinner in the North End yesterday and stopped by Modern Pastry to pick up some sweets. Chris and I have been craving Key Lime pie since we visited Key West in March
Had dinner in the North End yesterday and stopped by Modern Pastry to pick up some sweets. Chris and I have been craving Key Lime pie since we visited Key West in March

IMG_3065

I finally got a chance to head over to this little local produce place near me and pick up some fruits and veggies. It’s a tiny, cash only store but they source local farms and the owner is this darling old man who always picks up a conversation with his customers. On top of that, it’s super cheap. I walked away from there with three big grocery bags for less than 20 bucks.

IMG_3067

I was happy to have the ingredients and time to get back in the kitchen and whip something up. I roasted some carrots and brussel sprouts in olive oil, salt, and pepper, and made corn on the cob. It tasted incredible after all the junk I’ve been eating. My energy levels have been really out of whack and I think my lack of nutrition was a huge factor.

IMG_3068Now, I’m headed to see a movie with a friend downtown. Thank god it’s summer.

Leave a Reply

