Soup for New Years

Ah, a new year already?! Are you sure there’s actually 365 days? It seems they grow shorter and shorter.

I hope all of you had a wonderful New Years. I was cooped up with a cold and Chris worked very late so we didn’t do much on the extravagant side. It was exciting when Chris made it into the apartment at 11:56 though! Just in time for a teensy bit of champagne and seeing the ball drop in New York. Truth be told, I wasn’t up for much more than that. I’m still getting over this bug. It’s on its last legs now, thank god. I am wishing all of you a healthy 2015! I will say, as nasty as it was, I think I was able to get it to clear up fairly quickly. I drank lots of Yogi Cold Season and Detox tea, cut out all meat and dairy, and amped up my fruit and veggie intake. Oh, and a hefty does of guiltless Netflix watching in bed. I’ve gotta be honest, I’m really not good at not doing anything. I start to get antsy for a project after a few hours or so of not doing anything. But learning how to rest has been on my list, so I suppose this has been a lesson of sorts.

sick selfieAnyway, I took the opportunity of being sick to try out a new soup recipe from one of the cook books I got for Christmas! Chris and I decided that because we weren’t going out this New Years, it would be nice to have something special for dinner. I chose Chickpea and Dumpling Stew from Thug Kitchen: Eat like you give a f*ck. The book is a riot. And the food is incredible. I tried a tortas recipe the other day and it is the best vegan sandwich I’ve had to date. The Chickpea and Dumpling Stew is hearty and chockfull of veggies so it was perfect for a chilly winter night, sick at home.

thug kitch chivesDSC_1089The dough came first. This was the easiest and messiest part. I don’t own a rolling pin, so I had to knead it out with my hands. Flour, chives, garlic powder, salt, pepper, olive oil, and almond milk. I used soy, because I didn’t have almond. I’ll admit, I usually eye-ball measurements, so these turned out a tad saltier than I would have liked but they were good. I cut this up into little squares and let it hang out in the fridge while I worked on the rest of the recipe.

DSC_1094 DSC_1096 DSC_1098I sauteed the veggies in olive oil, garlic, and salt and pepper. (Not pictured: broccoli, in the veggie mix.) The broth base was a mix of salt/pepper/garlic powder/chili powder with olive oil, flour, and white wine. The actual recipe called for a few spices I didn’t have, so I improvised. They also show you how to make your own vegetable broth but I was short on patience (and kitchen space) so I used store bought broth. I added the dumplings into the simmering broth slowly, and a few at a time so they wouldn’t clump up. After that, I added the sauteed veggies, along with chick peas, green peas, and chopped kale.

DSC_1099DSC_1102It cooked a little longer until the kale had wilted more. It turned out great! I did have to add a few more cups of broth/water because it was a tad too thick, but I figure that was because I used my own measurements and not the recipe’s. But all’s well that eats well, right?

Screen Shot 2015-01-02 at 10.48.13 PMWishing you all warmth and wellness!

Leave a Reply

