A foodie’s fall favorites

Okay, I wouldn’t quite consider myself a foodie.. I’ve just barely progressed from making sandwiches and stirfries for every meal, but I would say that I’m an aspiring foodie..ist..foodiest….. What I’m saying is that my step away from meat hasn’t been me making frozen tofu chik’n and ragu spaghetti every night. (No judgement though, I’ve totally been there.) I am actively seeking to incorporate more fresh fruits and vegetables, whole grains, and healthy fats into my daily diet. Yes, I know I sound like poster in a pediatrician’s office but the proof is in the vegan pudding. When I stop considering the processed stuff as anything but junk food, I notice a difference. And pretty quickly, too.

Okay, rambling.

Today Chris and I went to a local farm for apple picking. This was awesome because a) it’s my favorite fall activity, b) peaches and plums and pears were in season too, and c) it’s completely vegan AND healthy AND it means I get to try new recipes. That is, if I don’t eat all the fruit before I actually get to try the new recipes.

We had a blast at the farm
We had a blast at the farm

Most of the time I prefer to just eat fruit and veggies raw, or perhaps cut up and paired with hummus or peanut butter but I’d like to expand/build upon my overall cooking knowledge so I’m trying to be creative. I also want to cut down on my trips to the grocery store and fine tune my brain to look in my cupboards and see MEALS!…instead of just ingredients… So again, forcing creativity! Is it possible to having cooker’s block? haha

(I’m going to go ahead and apologize for the poor quality of these pictures. The sad truth of it is that I have a big fancy camera that takes wonderful pictures and I am just too lazy most of the time to pull it out when I have my phone right in my hand already. But in the spirit of seeming genuine… I’m sorry for this crap photography.)

1: Greens sauteed in a miso-ginger broth with garlic, a dash of rice-wine vinegar, and a little soy sauce. And pears from the farm sauteed in apple cider and then pan fried with coconut oil. 2: Multigrain baguette with red pepper hummus, guacamole, sliced cucumbers, red pepper, sandwich-slice dill pickles, and arugula. Side of blackbean/quinoa tortilla chips. 3: Arugula salad with mango, whole wheat cous cous, black beans, and lime juice.
1: Greens sauteed in a miso-ginger broth with garlic, a dash of rice-wine vinegar, and a little soy sauce. And pears from the farm sauteed in apple cider and then pan fried with coconut oil.
2: Multigrain baguette with red pepper hummus, guacamole, sliced cucumbers, red pepper, sandwich-slice dill pickles, and arugula. Side of blackbean/quinoa tortilla chips.
3: Arugula salad with mango, whole wheat cous cous, black beans, and lime juice.

My mornings usually start out with (coffee, let’s not kid ourselves,) some fruit and cut up vegetables. I’ve been doing some reading on the processes of digestion and it’s recommended by some to start off with these because it supplies a fresh system with straight, quality sources of vitamins and minerals. This seemed to make sense to me so I’ve begun doing it, and so far I am happy with the results! (Plus this is what Chris has been doing for forever and he usually rolls out of bed before me and cuts up all the veggies and does the prep work so I just get to eat what’s in front of me without having to think too much.) The fiber fills me up and keeps me full and I don’t mind munching on it here and there because hey, it’s just fruit and vegetables. But mostly my mind is not even on food (a first time for everything, right?) and so my stomach and my head are both happy.

Top: Breakfast. Chris and I usually split this amount. Bottom: Lunch I packed in my new bento box! Baby carrots, garlic naan topped with cucumbers, tomatoes, hummus, and red peppers, half an orange, and some of the aforementioned salad.
Top: Breakfast. Chris and I usually split this amount.
Bottom: Lunch I packed in my new bento box! Baby carrots, garlic naan topped with cucumbers, tomatoes, hummus, and red peppers, half an orange, and some of the mango black bean salad.

Okay, so I haven’t progressed past sandwiches and strifries reeaally but I’m satisfied for now so I have no complaints. My only concern …. dare I say it….. is holiday season. Which, I consider to begin more or less on September first. But I’m a huge Fall-baker and I’d love to incorporate some of the produce I have in vegan recipes.

Anyone have any suggestions??

Leave a Reply

